Entries by bconline6

Hiding Out by Tina Alexis Allen | Book Circle Online

James Lott Jr. talks with Tina Alexis Allen about her book, “Hiding Out.”

 

Actress and playwright Tina Alexis Allen’s audacious memoir unravels her privileged suburban Catholic upbringing that was shaped by her formidable father—a man whose strict religious devotion and dedication to his large family hid his true nature and a life defined by deep secrets and dangerous lies.

The youngest of thirteen children in a devout Catholic family, Tina Alexis Allen grew up in 1980s suburban Maryland in a house ruled by her stern father, Sir John, an imposing, British-born authoritarian who had been knighted by the Pope. Sir John supported his […]

A Dark Path To Light by Alex Broches | Book Circle Online

Katerina Cozias talks with Alex Broches about his book, “A Dark Path to Light.”

“Alex has been through hell and back. His story is an inspiration to me on not only survival but how to thrive from the middle of darkness” James Altucher- Best Selling Author & Venture Capitalist 

A gripping true-life tale of one young man’s journey from poverty, isolation and desperation to health, happiness and financial success.

Nine-year-old Alex Broches’ life is suddenly turned upside down when his father is arrested for a shockingly violent crime, sending his family on a downward spiral of shame, fear and even bouts of homelessness. An […]

The Silence of the Lambs (Thomas Harris) – Adapted: Books to Movies

Love books? Love movies? Hosts Marisa Serafini and Phil Svitek love them both too… equally. So they decided to marry their love of both into a monthly dedicated series where they discuss books that have been adapted into movies.

This month they honor Thomas Harris’ Silence of the Lambs, which celebrates its 30th year.

First published in 1988, it is the sequel to Harris’ 1981 novel Red Dragon. Both novels feature the cannibalistic serial killer Dr. Hannibal Lecter, this time pitted against FBI Special Agent Clarice Starling.

This book has been adapted into the 1991 critical and box office success movie of the same […]

Mr. & Mrs. Hollywood by Kathleen Sharp | Book Circle Online

Zoe Hewitt talks with Kathleen Sharp about her book, Mr. & Mrs. Hollywood: Edie and Lew Wasserman and Their Entertainment Empire.

Ever wonder why so many B actors wind up as A-grade politicians? Or how the casting couch worked? Acclaimed author Kathleen Sharp traces the influence of show business through the lives of its first power couple. Edie and Lew Wasserman built the world’s largest talent agency, MCA, created the multibillion-dollar Universal Studios, and helped shape Washington, DC. Starting from MCA’s birth in gangland Chicago, Lew represented stars such as Jimmy Stewart and Marilyn Monroe; pioneered TV with Leave It to Beaver and Miami […]

A Farewell To Arms (Ernest Hemingway) – Adapted: Books to Movies

Love books? Love movies? Hosts Marisa Serafini and Phil Svitek love them both too… equally. So they decided to marry their love of both into a monthly dedicated series where they discuss books that have been adapted into movies.

This month they discuss A Farewell to Arms. The book, published in 1929, is a first-person account of American Frederic Henry, serving as a lieutenant (“tenente”) in the ambulance corps of the Italian Army. The title is taken from a poem by 16th-century English dramatist George Peele.

A Farewell to Arms is about a love affair between the expatriate American Frederic Henry and Catherine Barkley […]

A Christmas Carol (Charles Dickens) – Adapted: Books to Movies

Love books? Love movies? Hosts Marisa Serafini and Phil Svitek love them both too… equally. So they decided to marry their love of both into a monthly dedicated series where they discuss books that have been adapted into movies.

 
Love books? Love movies? Hosts Marisa Serafini and Phil Svitek love them both too… equally. So they decided to marry their love of both into a monthly dedicated series where they discuss books that have been adapted into movies.

In this festive month, they gleefully chat about one of Dicken’s most influential works A Christmas Carol. Many have seen an adaptation of it, but […]

Stardust by Neil Gaiman – Adapted: Books to Movies

Love books? Love movies? Hosts Marisa Serafini and Phil Svitek love them both too… equally. So they decided to marry their love of both into a monthly dedicated series where they discuss books that have been adapted into movies.

This month, they analyze Neil Gaiman’s Stardust, which has a different tone and style from most of Gaiman’s prose fiction, being consciously written in the tradition of pre-Tolkien English fantasy, following in the footsteps of authors such as Lord Dunsany and Hope Mirrlees. It is concerned with the adventures of a young man from the village of Wall, which borders the magical land of Faerie. […]

Becoming AFI: 50 Years Inside the American Film Institute with Jean Picker Firstenberg | Book Circle Online

Host Zoe Hewitt talks with Jean Picker Firstenberg about her book ” Becoming AFI: 50 Years Inside the American Film Institute.”

Jean Picker Firstenberg, is an American who served as the CEO and Director of the American Film Institute from 1980 through 2007. She was the Institute’s second and first female CEO. At the time of her appointment, she was an executive at the Markle Foundation.

About the Book: For over fifty years, the American Film Institute has flourished as one of America’s great cultural entities. Its graduates, faculty, supporters, and trustees have included such acclaimed individuals as Steven Spielberg, Maya Angelou, Gregory Peck […]

Grouchy Historian by Ed Asner | Book Circle Online

James Lott Jr talks to Ed Asner about his new book, The Grouchy Historian: An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and Nutjobs.

In the tradition of Al Franken and Michael Moore, Ed Asner—a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show—reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.

Ed Asner, a self-proclaimed dauntless Democrat from the old days, figured that if the right-wing wackos are wrong about voter fraud, Obama’s death panels, and climate change, they are probably just as wrong about what the Constitution says. There’s no way that two […]

Taking Back Your Holidays by Yvonne Lacey

Michael Rippe talks to Yvonne Lacey about her book, Taking Back Your Holidays: A Whimsical Guide to a Lighter, Brighter Christmas. Maybe you love Christmas, or maybe you want to love Christmas, but you feel like the time between the beginning of Fall and the start of the New Year flies by so fast that you can’t stop to enjoy a moment of it.

Did you get a chance to sing Christmas songs together?

To cook your grandmother’s secret recipes in your own kitchen?

To make a snow angel?

To sing “Happy Holidays” to your neighbors?

This year is your chance to take back […]

LA Comic Con Wrap Up & Interview with Zack Kaplan (Port of Earth)

Hosts Frank Moran, Lacretia Lyon and Lex Michael discuss LA Comic Con. They also have Zack Kaplan from Top Cow via Skype to discuss his new comic book, Port of Earth.

ABOUT BOOK CIRCLE ONLINE: Book Circle Online is the world’s first online network with shows dedicated to the intimate discussion and dissection of various books. BCO also features one on one author interviews and engages fellow fans via social media.

BCO Hosts, comprised of authors, writers, critics and media personalities, discuss all aspects of the book from the author’s inspiration and background to chapter-by-chapter breakdowns. Hosts offer insight and opinions as well as […]

The Transplant Journey by Ava Kaufman | Book Circle Online

James Lott Jr talks to Ava Kaufman about her book, The Transplant Journey.

About the book: The process of transplant is about restoring life. I mean how truly amazing is modern medicine and science! They can now take organs from a person who is brain dead (yes, a person must be brain dead to be able to donate their organs; heart still beating, but no brain activity) and medication taken twice or more daily can keep that organ functioning and give new life to a person who, half a century ago, would be dead. And not just new life, but for many a life […]